National Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander
Music, Sport, Entertainment & Community Awards

The 2014 Deadly Awards will not be held this year.

The Deadlys Executive Academy Judging Panel

Some Deadly Awards are judged in full by the Deadlys® Executive Academy. Members have representation and expertise across all categories.  A number of Deadly Awards are weighted 50% Deadly Executive Academy and 50% popular vote.

The formation of the Academy and their role in the Deadlys® was a recommendation from commissioned research by the Australian Council for Education Research into ways to strengthen the Deadlys® nomination and voting systems. To view the findings of the review visit

The panel was chosen for the expertise they bring to the judging table and include:

  • Dr Tom Calma, National Coordinator for Tackling Indigenous Smoking, and former Social Justice Commissioner
  • Rhoda Roberts, journalist, broadcaster, writer and artistic director
  • Cathy Craigie former Director of the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Arts Board (Australia Council) and Founder of Gadigal Information Service (Koori Radio)
  • Dr Sandra Eades the first Aboriginal medical doctor to be awarded a PhD
  • Kirsty Parker, former editor of the Koori Mail and co-chair of the National Congress of Australia’s First Peoples
  • John Paul Janke, director, Executive and Communications with the Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies
  • Adele Cox, former broadcaster/journalist, and more recently working on large scale research projects in Aboriginal health. She also works in higher education and teaching.
  • Gavin Jones, Executive Producer of the Deadly Awards®.

The panel votes across music, sport, the arts, health, education and employment categories, reflecting a more rigorous voting system introduced for the Deadlys.