National Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander
Music, Sport, Entertainment & Community Awards

The 2014 Deadly Awards will not be held this year.

Deadlys News:

2010 Deadly Awards

The quest to find Indigenous Australia’s best and brightest this year has culminated with the announcement of the 2010 Deadly Awards winners. At a gala awards night held at the Sydney Opera House, winners were announced from a nominees’ list that reflects the depth of talent and achievement Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders have demonstrated in 2010.

The 16th annual National Indigenous Music, Sport, Entertainment and Community Awards, aka the Deadlys, is Australia’s largest Indigenous award’s night and the final winner in each of the 28 award categories didn’t disappoint. From the grassroots musicianship of our Deadly musicians to the grit and determination our Deadly sportstars have shown in 2010, not to mention the inspiration and achievement of our artists and community awardees, all winners took a deserved bow on the mainstage.

Executive producer Gavin Jones described the 2010 Deadly Awards winners as “simply the best”. “We had a record 29,000 votes this year, showing the strong support Indigenous Australians have given the 2010 Deadlys,” he says. “I don’t think the voting public will be disappointed with the calibre of our winners – not only the best and brightest Indigenous Australians in 2010, but amongst the best talent we have in this country today.” The Deadlys show was dynamic with performances by some of the biggest names in Australia’s music and arts scene.

Performers on the night included the stars of music, dance and film, pop music icon Christine Anu, musician and balladeer Frank Yamma, the powerhouse performer Dan Sultan, multi ARIA and Deadly winner Archie Roach. Special guests and presenters included Governor General of NSW, Her Excellency Professor Marie Bashir AO; Olympic swimmer Ian Thorpe; rugby league star Timana Tahu; singer Casey Donovan; Director of the Stronger Smarter Institute Dr Chris Sarra; journalist Jeff McMullan; Minister for Community Services, the Hon Linda Burney (representing the NSW Premier Kristina Keneally) and Queensland rap superstar Dizzy Doolan.

Deadly Awards hosts for the night, Luke Carroll and Naomi Wenitong kept the audiences entertained throughout the evening. The 2010 Deadly Awards will be a tough act to follow, according to Mr Jones. “Each year the show is one not to be missed and mainstream Australia is now recognising the worth of the Deadly Awards,” he says. “The Deadly’s deliver a strong and healthy message to the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander community – that, hopefully, is an inspiration to young Indigenous Australians, indeed Indigenous Australians across the country.”


  • Most Promising New Talent in Music

Busby Marou

  • Album Release of the Year

Archie Roach 1988 – Archie Roach

  • Single Release of the Year

Letter – Dan Sultan  

  • Female Artist of the Year

Naomi Wenitong

  • Outstanding Achievement in RnB and Hip Hop

Last Kinection

  • Band of the Year

The Medics

  • Male Artist of the Year

Dan Sultan

  • Live Production of the Year

The Sapphires  

  • Outstanding Achievement in Literature

Manhattan Dreaming – Anita Heiss

  • Television Show of the Year

Message Stick – ABC TV

  • Television Personality of the Year

Wendell Sailor – The Footy Show

  • Dancer of the Year

Yolande Brown

  • Visual Artist of the Year

Walangari Karntawarra  

  • Film of the Year

Bran Nue Dae 

  • Male Sportsperson of the Year

Timana Tahu – NRL  

  • Female Actor of the Year

Deborah Mailman – Bran Nue Dae

  • Male Actor of the Year

Rocky McKenzie – Bran Nue Dae

  • Outstanding Achievement in AFL

Nathan Lovett-Murray

  • Outstanding Achievement in NRL

Jamal Idris

  • Female Sportsperson of the Year

Josie Janz – Netball

  • Most Promising New Talent in Sport

Ben Barba – NRL

  • Outstanding Achievement in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Health

Dr Peter O’Mara – Australian Indigenous Doctors’ Association

  • Indigenous Health Worker of the Year

Colleen Carwood – Prince of Wales Hospital, NSW

  • Outstanding Achievement in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Employment

Swim For Life Program – (YMCA Perth)

  • Outstanding Achievement in Cultural Advancement

Shane Phillips

  • Community Broadcaster of the Year

Glen Crump – Mission Beat Moree

  • Leader of the Year

Patricia Turner – NITV

  • Outstanding Achievement in Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Education

St Teresa’s Agricultural College (Abergowrie QLD).

Leave a Reply